Carbon Steel Composition Chart

Chemical composition limits for the plain carbon, free-cutting and high-manganese grades of the SAE-AISI 10xx, 11xx, 12xx and 15xx series, quoted as cast or heat analysis in weight percent. The tables are grouped by product form, because the same grade number carries a different carbon window in bar stock and in structural plate. A buyer can read the limits straight off the line that matches the material being quoted.

  • wt % cast or heat analysis
  • 0.15-0.20 specified range
  • 0.30 max maximum limit
  • — not specified
  • M merchant quality series
  • Carbon steel bars, billets and forgings

The 10xx grades written for semifinished products for forging, hot-rolled and cold-finished bars, wire rods and seamless tubing. Table 12 of the source.

SAE-AISIUNSCMnP maxS max
1005G100500.06 max0.35 max0.0400.050
1006G100600.08 max0.25–0.400.0400.050
1008G100800.10 max0.30–0.500.0400.050
1010G101000.08–0.130.30–0.600.0400.050
1012G101200.10–0.150.30–0.600.0400.050
1013G101300.11–0.160.50–0.800.0400.050
1015G101500.13–0.180.30–0.600.0400.050
1016G101600.13–0.180.60–0.900.0400.050
1017G101700.15–0.200.30–0.600.0400.050
1018G101800.15–0.200.60–0.900.0400.050
1019G101900.15–0.200.70–1.000.0400.050
1020G102000.18–0.230.30–0.600.0400.050
1021G102100.18–0.230.60–0.900.0400.050
1022G102200.18–0.230.70–1.000.0400.050
1023G102300.20–0.250.30–0.600.0400.050
1025G102500.22–0.280.30–0.600.0400.050
1026G102600.22–0.280.60–0.900.0400.050
1029G102900.25–0.310.60–0.900.0400.050
1030G103000.28–0.340.60–0.900.0400.050
1035G103500.32–0.380.60–0.900.0400.050
1037G103700.32–0.380.70–1.000.0400.050
1038G103800.35–0.420.60–0.900.0400.050
1039G103900.37–0.440.70–1.000.0400.050
1040G104000.37–0.440.60–0.900.0400.050
1042G104200.40–0.470.60–0.900.0400.050
1043G104300.40–0.470.70–1.000.0400.050
1044G104400.43–0.500.30–0.600.0400.050
1045G104500.43–0.500.60–0.900.0400.050
1046G104600.43–0.500.70–1.000.0400.050
1049G104900.46–0.530.60–0.900.0400.050
1050G105000.48–0.550.60–0.900.0400.050
1053G105300.48–0.550.70–1.000.0400.050
1055G105500.50–0.600.60–0.900.0400.050
1059G105900.55–0.650.50–0.800.0400.050
1060G106000.55–0.650.60–0.900.0400.050
1064G106400.60–0.700.50–0.800.0400.050
1065G106500.60–0.700.60–0.900.0400.050
1069G106900.65–0.750.40–0.700.0400.050
1070G107000.65–0.750.60–0.900.0400.050
1074G107400.70–0.800.50–0.800.0400.050
1075G107500.70–0.800.40–0.700.0400.050
1078G107800.72–0.850.30–0.600.0400.050
1080G108000.75–0.880.60–0.900.0400.050
1084G108400.80–0.930.60–0.900.0400.050
1085G108500.80–0.930.70–1.000.0400.050
1086G108600.80–0.930.30–0.500.0400.050
1090G109000.85–0.980.60–0.900.0400.050
1095G109500.90–1.030.30–0.500.0400.050

Source: ASM Handbook, Vol 1 (10th ed.), “Classification and Designation of Carbon and Low-Alloy Steels”, Table 12.

Carbon steel composition chart, printable PDF

Three A4 pages with the composition limits of 135 grades in the 10xx, 11xx, 12xx and 15xx series, the four source corrections marked, and our contact details.

Structural carbon steel

The same series written for structural shapes, plates, strip, sheets and welded tubing, where the carbon ranges run slightly wider. Table 13 of the source.

SAE-AISIUNSCMnP maxS max
1006G100600.08 max0.45 max0.0400.050
1008G100800.10 max0.50 max0.0400.050
1009G100900.15 max0.60 max0.0400.050
1010G101000.08–0.130.30–0.600.0400.050
1012G101200.10–0.150.30–0.600.0400.050
1015G101500.12–0.180.30–0.600.0400.050
1016G101600.12–0.180.60–0.900.0400.050
1017G101700.14–0.200.30–0.600.0400.050
1018G101800.14–0.200.60–0.900.0400.050
1019G101900.14–0.200.70–1.000.0400.050
1020G102000.17–0.230.30–0.600.0400.050
1021G102100.17–0.230.60–0.900.0400.050
1022G102200.17–0.230.70–1.000.0400.050
1023G102300.19–0.250.30–0.600.0400.050
1025G102500.22–0.280.30–0.600.0400.050
1026G102600.22–0.280.60–0.900.0400.050
1030G103000.27–0.340.60–0.900.0400.050
1033G103300.29–0.360.70–1.000.0400.050
1035G103500.31–0.380.60–0.900.0400.050
1037G103700.31–0.380.70–1.000.0400.050
1038G103800.34–0.420.60–0.900.0400.050
1039G103900.36–0.440.70–1.000.0400.050
1040G104000.36–0.440.60–0.900.0400.050
1042G104200.39–0.470.60–0.900.0400.050
1043G104300.39–0.470.70–1.000.0400.050
1045G104500.42–0.500.60–0.900.0400.050
1046G104600.42–0.500.70–1.000.0400.050
1049G104900.45–0.530.60–0.900.0400.050
1050G105000.47–0.550.60–0.900.0400.050
1055G105500.52–0.600.60–0.900.0400.050
1060G106000.55–0.660.60–0.900.0400.050
1064G106400.59–0.700.50–0.800.0400.050
1065G106500.59–0.700.60–0.900.0400.050
1070G107000.65–0.760.60–0.900.0400.050
1074G107400.69–0.800.50–0.800.0400.050
1075G107500.69–0.800.40–0.700.0400.050
1078G107800.72–0.860.30–0.600.0400.050
1080G108000.74–0.880.60–0.900.0400.050
1084G108400.80–0.940.60–0.900.0400.050
1085G108500.80–0.940.70–1.000.0400.050
1086G108600.80–0.940.30–0.500.0400.050
1090G109000.84–0.980.60–0.900.0400.050
1095G109500.90–1.040.30–0.500.0400.050

Source: ASM Handbook, Vol 1 (10th ed.), “Classification and Designation of Carbon and Low-Alloy Steels”, Table 13.

Merchant quality bars

A separate series for merchant quality bar stock, where the carbon range is opened up and silicon is not specified. Table 14 of the source.

UNSCMnP maxS max
M10080.10 max0.25–0.600.040.05
M10100.07–0.140.25–0.600.040.05
M10120.09–0.160.25–0.600.040.05
M10150.12–0.190.25–0.600.040.05
M10170.14–0.210.25–0.600.040.05
M10200.17–0.240.25–0.600.040.05
M10230.19–0.270.25–0.600.040.05
M10250.20–0.300.25–0.600.040.05
M10310.26–0.360.25–0.600.040.05
M10440.40–0.500.25–0.600.040.05

Source: ASM Handbook, Vol 1 (10th ed.), “Classification and Designation of Carbon and Low-Alloy Steels”, Table 14.

Free-cutting carbon steel, resulfurized

The 11xx series, where sulfur is raised on purpose to break the chip. Sulphur is a range in these grades and not a maximum. Table 15 of the source.

SAE-AISIUNSCMnP maxS
1108G110800.08–0.130.50–0.800.0400.08–0.13
1110G111000.08–0.130.30–0.600.0400.08–0.13
1117G111700.14–0.201.00–1.300.0400.08–0.13
1118G111800.14–0.201.30–1.600.0400.08–0.13
1137G113700.32–0.391.35–1.650.0400.08–0.13
1139G113900.35–0.431.35–1.650.0400.13–0.20
1140G114000.37–0.440.70–1.000.0400.08–0.13
1141G114100.37–0.451.35–1.650.0400.08–0.13
1144G114400.40–0.481.35–1.650.0400.24–0.33
1146G114600.42–0.490.70–1.000.0400.08–0.13
1151G115100.48–0.550.70–1.000.0400.08–0.13

Source: ASM Handbook, Vol 1 (10th ed.), “Classification and Designation of Carbon and Low-Alloy Steels”, Table 15.

Free-cutting carbon steel, rephosphorized and resulfurized

The 12xx series, where phosphorus is raised with the sulfur. Lower carbon and higher sulfur push the machinability rating of these grades above the 11xx series. Table 16 of the source.

SAE-AISIUNSC maxMnPSPb
1211G121100.130.60–0.900.07–0.120.10–0.15—
1212G121200.130.70–1.000.07–0.120.16–0.23—
1213G121300.130.70–1.000.07–0.120.24–0.33—
1215G121500.090.75–1.050.04–0.090.26–0.35—
12L14G121440.150.85–1.150.04–0.090.26–0.350.15–0.35

Source: ASM Handbook, Vol 1 (10th ed.), “Classification and Designation of Carbon and Low-Alloy Steels”, Table 16.

High-manganese carbon steel, bar and forging

Grades 1513 to 1566 carry 0.75 to 1.65 % manganese for through-hardening at larger sections. Table 17 of the source.

SAE-AISIUNSCMnP maxS max
1513G151300.10–0.161.10–1.400.0400.050
1522G152200.18–0.241.10–1.400.0400.050
1524G152400.19–0.251.35–1.650.0400.050
1526G152600.22–0.291.10–1.400.0400.050
1527G152700.22–0.291.20–1.500.0400.050
1536G153600.30–0.371.20–1.500.0400.050
1541G154100.36–0.441.35–1.650.0400.050
1548G154800.44–0.521.10–1.400.0400.050
1551G155100.45–0.560.85–1.150.0400.050
1552G155200.47–0.551.20–1.500.0400.050
1561G156100.55–0.650.75–1.050.0400.050
1566G156600.60–0.710.85–1.150.0400.050

Source: ASM Handbook, Vol 1 (10th ed.), “Classification and Designation of Carbon and Low-Alloy Steels”, Table 17.

High-manganese carbon steel, structural

The high-manganese series written for structural shapes, plates, strip, sheets and welded tubing. The former SAE number each grade replaced is shown in the last column. Table 18 of the source.

SAE-AISIUNSCMnP maxS maxFormer SAE
1524G152400.18–0.251.30–1.650.0400.0501024
1527G152700.22–0.291.20–1.550.0400.0501027
1536G153600.30–0.381.20–1.550.0400.0501036
1541G154100.36–0.451.30–1.650.0400.0501041
1548G154800.43–0.521.05–1.400.0400.0501048
1552G155200.46–0.551.20–1.550.0400.0501052

Source: ASM Handbook, Vol 1 (10th ed.), “Classification and Designation of Carbon and Low-Alloy Steels”, Table 18.

Carbon steel composition chart, printable PDF

Three A4 pages with the composition limits of 135 grades in the 10xx, 11xx, 12xx and 15xx series, the four source corrections marked, and our contact details.

  • (a) Rods in the 10xx series are commonly produced with silicon ranges of 0.10 max, 0.07-0.15, 0.10-0.20, 0.15-0.35, 0.20-0.40 or 0.30-0.60. Bars and semifinished products take the silicon values of the steel specification they are ordered to.
  • (b) Leaded carbon steels typically contain 0.15-0.35 % Pb and carry the letter L in the designation, as in 10L45. Boron steels contain 0.0005-0.003 % B and carry the letter B, as in 10B46.
  • (c) Merchant quality bars are not produced to a specified silicon content. The M prefix marks the series.
  • (d) It is not common practice to produce the 12xx series to specified silicon limits, because silicon has an adverse effect on machinability.
  • (e) When lead ranges are required in the 11xx series, the free-cutting table above carries the values to use.
  • (f) Sulfur and phosphorus columns marked max are maxima. A range in the same column is deliberately specified, and both limits are binding.

Table notes

Four values in the source tables were printed with a decimal point missing or misplaced. They are corrected here and the printed form is given so the correction can be checked against the printed page. Grade 1006 sulfur is printed as 0.50 and is given as 0.050. Grade 1015 carbon is printed as 0.13-018 and is given as 0.13-0.18. Grade 1016 carbon is printed as 013-0.18 and is given as 0.13-0.18. Grade 1211 phosphorus is printed as 0.07-012 and is given as 0.07-0.12.

The values above are cast or heat analysis limits in weight percent, the ranges a mill has to hit in the ladle. Limits for product analysis, which is what a buyer sees on a certificate, are wider and are set by the governing standard, for example ASTM A29, ASTM A576, ASTM A108 or SAE J403. Product analysis tolerances are listed in those standards and are the numbers to quote when a heat comes back outside the range above.

Composition data is for general reference only. Actual values vary by standard, mill, and heat number. Confirm against the material test certificate (MTC) or contact Aobo Steel. Grade-level pages for individual steels, such as the 4140 composition, the 4340 composition and the 8620 composition, carry the same chemistry for one grade with its heat treatment and applications.

Why the same grade has two carbon ranges

A 1018 bar order and a 1018 sheet order are not written to the same carbon window. The bar series above allows 0.15 to 0.20 % C and the structural series allows 0.14 to 0.20 % C, so a certificate that looks off by one point is often simply the other table.

Where carbon steel stops and tool steel starts

Carbon tool steels sit above the 10xx window and the 1095 grade at the end of the bar table is where the two families meet. D2 against 1095 walks through the difference in hardenability and wear.

Free-cutting grades and surface finish

Raised sulfur breaks the chip and improves finish, at the cost of ductility across the section. The 1045 against tool steel comparison covers the same trade-off from the other side.

Ask for the certificate with the heat number

Every carbon and alloy steel shipment leaves here with an EN 10204 3.1 mill certificate that carries the heat number, so the values above can be checked against the heat that was actually rolled.

Tool steel composition chart · Stainless steel composition chart · Tool steel machinability ratings · 4140 steel properties · 4340 steel properties · 8620 steel properties · Case hardening steel guide · 1045 steel against tool steel · D2 against 1095 steel · Tool steel heat treatment guide · Alloy steel composition chart · Steel machinability ratings · H steel composition chart

Source: ASM Handbook, Vol 1 (10th ed.), “Classification and Designation of Carbon and Low-Alloy Steels”, Tables 12 to 18. Values are cast or heat analysis limits in weight percent.